A Good Day

I think I made a kid’s day today, and with everything else not as nice that happened today, I need to make a post about it.

A student at one of my schools worked really hard a few weeks ago on the big-deal state test and I wanted to reward him for it. He’s a big basketball fan, and I once almost watched a full quarter of a Pacers game on TV. I did manage to kind of remain aware of a Pacers game I saw live a couple years ago, but the tickets were free, and it was a rare date night with my awesome wife, so it wasn’t even the most important thing going on in the room then. I’m not mad at anybody for liking basketball, it just isn’t my thing.

But this kid loves Chris Paul. I at least recognized the name, I read a story about him once and thought he seemed like a good guy. The week before the test, he pretty much single-handedly beat the Pacers, which I happened to catch on the news while praying for a snow day.

2009-10 Bowman 48 Autographs #48ACP Chris Paul

2009-10 Bowman 48 Autographs #48ACP Chris Paul

Today, I got to give him this card, which I promised to him if he passed. I have no idea, and may not ever know, if he actually passed. But he did put in the time, and make it a priority, and he earned it, win or lose.

Besides that great thing, writing this is making me appreciate the good guys in the hobby, and even the business. So my source for this one is an altogether decent guy, and you can find him on Facebook, or on SportsCardForum. Thanks Bryce!

 

There is a lot of complaining that goes with this hobby, or with anything I suppose. My attempt to lessen complaining in my own life makes me a little more sensitive to it, but I notice it a lot. Within this “fun, kid-oriented, hobby”, there is always a list of people ready to tell you about a bad deal, blacklisted sellers who never ship, what a rip-off an auction site’s fees are, money lost on prospects who got lazy, and a whole host of coulda shoulda wouldas. I was even tempted to throw my vote in on the whole Topps/MLB exclusivity deal this week, but didn’t have much to add to what’s already out there.

Clearly, if you’re reading a new blog about one guy’s baseball cards, you probably already know there are a lot of great places and people to know in our hobby. I wish my LCS was open 24 hours, I could hang out there for days and not get tired of the people there – and they probably wouldn’t kick me out either, not because of me, but because of them. I’ve had great experiences with all the online places to buy and trade, even an eBay mixup ended well – for both of us. I have a lot of card blogs that I read now, sometimes in the middle of the day when I need a quick vacation, those are great guys. I have been really happy to get back into the hobby, but it is many times more enjoyable because of the other good guys that collect this stuff too.

Leave a Reply

Lifetime Topps project

Collecting every topps set since the year I was born

Ballparks on a Budget

Baseball is better in person- take yourself out to the ballgame!

Cardzcollector

Bustin Wax & Sharing My PC

Baseball Nerd

Official MLBlog of Keith Olbermann

30-Year Old Cardboard

Talking Baseball and Baseball Cards while focusing on the 70's and 80's

Cubs Vine Line Blog

The Official Blog for Chicago Cubs Vine Line Magazine

The Writer's Journey

Baseball, horror, music, yadda yadda yadda

Paul's Random Baseball Stuff

Mostly Mets, with a selection of other baseball things that catch my eye

The Wax Fantastic

A Baseball Card Blog from the 'Other' side of the Atlantic

Coco Crisp's Afro

A celebration of the past and future of Oakland A's baseball.... with a Rock N Roll/East Bay rebellious spirit and a sense of humor.

razored21

Baseball Cards

Sports Card Info

Product reviews, interviews, commentary & more.

Sports Card Musings

Just another WordPress.com site

The Collector Revolution Daily Reader

A community hub for the hobby we love

Crackin' Wax™

Home of the Charity Case Break!

