Good Decision!

I decided to go for 2013 Topps Heritage after all. It is a set for me, a set builder. Last year I didn’t like the look, but I’m ok with this year’s. While I type this, I’m looking at a handful of 2011 Heritage and they look ok, why was I cranky last year?

I did record the hobby box break, but given the “…A Real One Autograph or Relic Card in Every Box”, it wasn’t terribly exciting. If you want a break video, Crackin’ Wax busted a Gypsy Queen blaster last night, and I met this guy at the card shop yesterday.

I had already purchased 3 packs, bringing my total to 27 packs. Here is why I love the set, even to the point of probably waving off my attempt to get a hobby case of Allen & Ginter:

  • I have 7 duplicates from the set. 243 cards total, and only 7 were dupes. Last year I would open a box and have some cards 3 deep.
  • I have 215 of the 500 cards in the base set (counting SP’s). I feel like one more hobby box would get me close enough to trade for the rest of my needs if I’m not already.
  • If I do need another box, they are inexpensive. I won’t be paying an extra $30-$40 for 2 more hits that get traded or sold for $1-$2.
  • There is some variety, but nothing like a Gypsy Queen or even Topps Base set. I hate figuring out variations, and since I didn’t pull many parallels, I don’t feel compelled to chase them down.
  • The cards themselves. With a few exceptions, the photos are good and the back of the card instantly took me to 1985 (since I didn’t get to do 1964). I like the trivia questions on the back, and I’m a stats nerd, so thank you Topps for the “Complete Major (and Minor) League Batting/Pitching Record”.
2013 Topps Heritage #144 Darwin Barney (back)

2013 Topps Heritage #144 Darwin Barney (back)

Naturally, there were some disappointments. There are some photos that I thought might give me nightmares. I won’t pick on these guys too much, my face isn’t really made for pictures either, but I think Topps could have picked a little better. I keep thinking of how disappointed the mothers of these players would be, and not just because many of them play for the White Sox. That, and I worried I might not get to sleep like Duente Heath is, because Luis Ayala might get me. I hoped I wouldn’t have a dream that I was a baby and Gavin Floyd was trying to tickle me with a baseball too.

And my “hit” was more of a foul tip, I think. Maybe a bunt.

2013 Topps Heritage Clubhouse Collection Relics #CCRJG Jaime Garcia

2013 Topps Heritage Clubhouse Collection Relics #CCRJG Jaime Garcia

I didn’t pull much from the insert sets, which I am glad for, but I like some of the ones I got and will keep them. I got 1 Chrome Refractor, 1 Chrome, and 1 Color Swap Variation. The 1964 Original I got fits my PC nicely too, but not as nicely as the Ernie Banks book card would have.

2013 Topps Heritage 1964 Buybacks #359 Jim Schaffer

2013 Topps Heritage 1964 Buybacks #359 Jim Schaffer

2013 Topps Heritage News Flashbacks #NFTB The Beatles

2013 Topps Heritage News Flashbacks #NFTB The Beatles

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

Lifetime Topps project

Collecting every topps set since the year I was born

Ballparks on a Budget

Baseball is better in person- take yourself out to the ballgame!

Cardzcollector

Bustin Wax & Sharing My PC

Baseball Nerd

Official MLBlog of Keith Olbermann

30-Year Old Cardboard

Talking Baseball and Baseball Cards while focusing on the 70's and 80's

Cubs Vine Line Blog

The Official Blog for Chicago Cubs Vine Line Magazine

The Writer's Journey

Baseball, horror, music, yadda yadda yadda

Paul's Random Baseball Stuff

Mostly Mets, with a selection of other baseball things that catch my eye

The Wax Fantastic

A Baseball Card Blog from the 'Other' side of the Atlantic

Coco Crisp's Afro

A celebration of the past and future of Oakland A's baseball.... with a Rock N Roll/East Bay rebellious spirit and a sense of humor.

razored21

Baseball Cards

Sports Card Info

Product reviews, interviews, commentary & more.

Sports Card Musings

Just another WordPress.com site

The Collector Revolution Daily Reader

A community hub for the hobby we love

Crackin' Wax™

Home of the Charity Case Break!

